Suffrage Universel
le droit de vote des étrangers

Le droit de vote des étrangers en Irlande

Le droit de vote a été accordé aux ressortissants britanniques en 1985 pour les élections nationales. Il s'agit surtout de Nord-Irlandais, dont certains sont devenus députés ou députés européens de l'Eire. Aux élections locales, tous les résidents étrangers avaient déjà le droit de vote et d'éligibilité depuis 1963 (Local Elections Act). Aux élections européennes, les Irlandais et les autres ressortissants d'états membres de l'UE ont le droit de vote et d'éligibilité.

Il n'y a pas de règles particulière concernant le droit de vote ou d'éligibilité des Irlandais d'origine étrangère. Il y a eu un député d'origine non européenne en 1992-1997, le Dr. Moossajee Bhamjee.

Resident citizens over the age of 18 years may vote at Dáil [chambre des députés], Presidential, local and European elections, and referenda. British citizens living in Ireland may vote at Dáil, European and local elections.

European Union citizens may vote at European and local elections. All residents, regardless of citizenship, may vote at local elections.$IE+VR02

Beyond age, what other qualifications exist for registering to vote and voting in the national elections?

a. Citizenship

comments: a.) UK citizens are also eligible to vote at parliamentary elections. source: Constitution, Ch.4, Art.16(1.2)


July 1999


The conditions are:

Age: a person must be at least 18 years of age on the day the register comes into force (15th February). Every resident aged 18 and upwards is entitled to be on the register.

Citizenship: while every adult resident is entitled to be registered, the registration authority needs to know a person's citizenship because this determines the elections at which a person may vote. The qualifying date for citizenship is the 1st September preceding the coming into force of the register. The right to vote is as follows:

Irish citizens may vote at every election and referendum;

British citizens may vote at Dáil, European and local elections;

Other EU citizens may vote at European and local elections;

Non-EU citizens may vote at local elections only.

Eligibility for Election

Every person who is a citizen of Ireland or ordinarily resident in the State and has reached the age of 18 years and is not subject to any of the following disqualifications is eligible for election or co-option to and membership of a local authority:


a member of the Commission of the European Communities or is a representative in the European Parliament, or a Judge, Advocate General or Registrar of the Court of Justice of the European Communities, or a member of the Court of Auditors of the European Communities, or a Minister of the Government or a Minister of State, or the chairman of Dáil Éireann (An Ceann Comhairle), or the chairman of Seanad Éireann, or appointed under the Constitution as a Judge or the Comptroller and Auditor General, or a member of the Garda Síochána or a wholetime member of the Defence Forces, or a civil servant who is not by terms of employment expressly permitted to be a member of a local authority, or undergoing a sentence of imprisonment for any term exceeding six months, imposed by a court of competent jurisdiction in the State, or fails to pay any portion of any sum charged or surcharged, by an auditor of the accounts of any local authority, upon or against that person, or fails to comply with a final judgement, order or decree of a court of competent jurisdiction, for payment of money due to a local authority, or is convicted of, or has had a conviction confirmed on appeal for, an offence relating to any of the following -

(i) fraudulent or dishonest dealings affecting a local authority,

(ii) corrupt practice,

(iii) acting when disqualified.


3. Who can vote at a local election?

There are almost 2.8 million local government electors. Generally, every person over 18 years of age is entitled to be registered as a local government elector for the electoral area where the person ordinarily resides. Citizenship is not a requirement for voting at a local election.

Persons who live in urban areas administered by borough corporations, urban district councils and town commissioners are entitled to vote at elections for both the county council and the urban authority concerned.


4. Register of Electors

A register of electors is compiled each year by county councils and county borough corporations. Everybody on the register is entitled to vote at a local election. Persons identified by the letter "L" opposite their names on the register can only vote at a local election. A draft of the register is published on 1st November each year and it is displayed for public inspection in post offices, libraries and other public buildings. A person can lodge a claim for correction in the draft register up to 25th November. It is adjudicated on by the county registrar, whose decision may be appealed to the Circuit Court. The register of electors comes into force on 15th February. Persons, who are not on the register, can make "late" applications for inclusion in a supplement to the register which is published prior to polling day at an election. An application may be made at any time but in order to be considered for the supplement to be published at an election, the application must be received by the county council/county borough corporation at least 15 working days before the polling day.


Every citizen of Ireland over 21 years of age who is not disqualified by the Constitution or by law is eligible to be elected to the Dáil. A member of the Dáil is referred to as Teachta Dála (TD). Persons undergoing a prison sentence in excess of six months, undischarged bankrupts and persons of unsound mind are disqualified for election. Certain occupations are incompatible with membership of the Dáil, for example, members of the judiciary, senior officials of the institutions of the European Union, civil servants, wholetime members of the Defence Forces and Gardaí (police).


There are approximately 2.7 million registered electors entitled to vote at Dáil elections.

Every citizen of Ireland and British citizen, over 18 years, whose name appears on the register of electors is entitled to vote.



Suffrage Universel
le droit de vote des étrangers

droit de vote des étrangers